ICCM Annual Board Meeting, 13th-15th May 2018, Rome

In May 13th, 6 months after the formation of the new Board, ICCM convened its annual meeting to discuss a number of issues regarding the effective and sustainable operation of the foundation, and plan for its future activities. The board meeting was followed by a two-day training workshop (14th-15th May) on “Governance, Strategic Planning and Fundraising” sponsored by the Getty Conservation Institute.

The elected ICCM Board Officers reported on matters concerning the financial administration, and the progress of the organisation of the 14th ICCM Triennial Conference (scheduled to be implemented in 2020). In addition, topics of discussion included: the development of a viable membership scheme for the foundation; the review of the 13th ICCM Conference in Barcelona and the progress of the publication of its proceedings; as well as the development of a more inclusive communication strategy for the benefit of the mosaic conservation professionals.

In follow up to the board meeting, members had the opportunity to exchange views and work together on the strategic orientation and future activities of the foundation. This was facilitated through a training seminar addressing “Best practices in Governance and Fund-raising for non-profit organisations” delivered by Ms. Buff Kavelman (President of the Kavelman Group, Philanthropic Advisors).

ICCM Foundation is thankful to the Getty Conservation Institute (GCI), longstanding partner of ICCM, for planning and generously funding the implementation of this workshop. Special thanks are due to Gael de Guichen and the Fondazione Primoli in Rome for their cordial hospitality.

The meetings were attended by: Aïcha Ben Abed (Member), Stefania Chlouveraki (Vice President), Gaël de Guichen, Ex-officio member, Honorary President), Foteini Giannoulidi (Administrative Assistant), Theocharis Katrakazis (Treasurer), Alessandro Lugari (Member), Roberto Nardi (President), Angela Pencheva (Secretary), Montserrat Puges I Dorca (Member), Marina Solomidou-Ieronymidou (Member), Jeanne Marie Teutonico (Member), Anjo Weichbrodt (Member), Buff Kavelman (Observer). Excused absence received: Anne-Marie Guimier-Sorbets, (Ex-Officio member, AIEMA); Demetrios Michaelides, (Ex-Officio member, President Emeritus), Taha Awaida (Member), Webber Ndoro (Ex-Officio member, ICCROM Director General, represented by Gael de Guichen).

The agenda of the ICCM Board Meeting is available for download here.